© 2011 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

11/07/11 2:24 PM EST

Young, Wilson, Holland earn team honors

MLB.com picks Rangers' top player, pitcher, breakout player

ARLINGTON -- This is the season for baseball awards, and Rangers third baseman Adrian Beltre has already done quite well for himself by winning both the Gold Glove Award for defensive excellence and the Silver Slugger Award for top offensive player at the position.

Michael Young was also honored by winning the Marvin Miller Man of the Year Award presented by the Players Association for a second time.

As selected by MLB.com, awards have been designated in three categories -- Pitcher, Perfomer and Breakout Player -- for each of the 30 teams.

Young has been voted as the Rangers' Player of the Year, while pitcher C.J. Wilson was selected as the Pitcher of the Year and Derek Holland as the Breakout Player of the Year.

Team Awards 2011

These awards are separate from the Rangers' Player of the Year, Pitcher of the Year, Rookie of the Year and Good Year Award. Those will be announced later in the winter and handed out at the Mid-Winter Banquet in January. Wilson, who is a free agent, was 16-7 with a 2.94 ERA on the season, while Holland was 16-5 with a 3.95 ERA.

The next big awards come later in the month when the Baseball Writers' Association of America will announce the winners of the Most Valuable Player, Cy Young, Manager of the Year and Rookie of the Year in each league.

The Jackie Robinson Rookie of the Year Award is up first and will be announced on Nov. 14. The American League Cy Young Award will be announced on Nov. 15, and Wilson is a top five candidate although almost everybody has conceded the trophy to Justin Verlander of the Tigers.

The Rangers have never had a pitcher win the Cy Young Award. They and the Rays are the only two AL teams that have not had at least one pitcher win that award.

The Manager of the Year Award will be announced on Nov. 16, and the Rangers are hoping that Ron Washington will get consideration after a second straight AL West title. Washington also took his team to the World Series for a second straight year, but the voting is based only on the regular season and is completed before the World Series. He is up against Jim Leyland of the Tigers and Joe Maddon of the Rays.

The AL MVP will be announced on Nov. 21, and Young is expected to draw some consideration. Young hit .338 with 88 runs scored, 41 doubles, six triples, 11 home runs and 106 RBIs in 2011 while playing multiple positions.

Young is a long shot to make it two MVPs in a row for the Rangers -- with Josh Hamilton winning in 2010 -- although there is really no clear-cut favorite. Miguel Cabrera of the Tigers, Jose Bautista of the Blue Jays, Curtis Granderson of the Yankees and Jacoby Ellsbury and Adrian Gonzalez of the Red Sox will all draw consideration. So, too, will Verlander, who could be the first AL pitcher to be named MVP since Dennis Eckersley for the Athletics in 1992.

The Rangers are not expected to have a candidate for the AL Rookie of the Year. Pitcher Neftali Feliz won the award last season.

T.R. Sullivan is a reporter for MLB.com. Read his blog, Postcards from Elysian Fields, and follow him on Twitter @Sullivan_Ranger. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.