© 2010 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

06/01/10 7:26 PM ET

Guerrero could be headed for homecoming

Rangers slugger is leading All-Star vote-getter at DH

CHICAGO -- Rangers designated hitter Vladimir Guerrero spent six years calling Angel Stadium his home. He could be headed for a triumphant homecoming.

Guerrero continues to lead all American League designated hitters in the latest update of the All-Star Game fan voting, released on Tuesday. Guerrero, who played for the Angels from 2004-09, has received 725,752 votes to be the starting designated hitter in the 81st annual All-Star Game on July 13 in Anaheim. He is ahead of Angels DH Hideki Matsui, who has 465,615 votes.

Guerrero went into Tuesday night's game with the White Sox hitting .332 with 12 home runs and a league-leading 44 RBIs. He has a .361 on-base percentage and a .560 slugging percentage.

Nelson Cruz, despite being on the disabled list for the second time because of hamstring injury, has moved up to second among outfielders, passing Carl Crawford. Cruz is hitting .327 with 10 home runs and 34 RBIs in 32 games. He has a .405 on-base percentage and a .729 slugging percentage. Seattle's Ichiro Suzuki remains the American League leader in the outfield.

Elvis Andrus remains second behind Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter, and Josh Hamilton is fourth among American League outfielders. Third baseman Michael Young and second baseman Ian Kinsler are both third at their positions, and Taylor Teagarden is fourth among catchers.

Fans can cast their votes for starters up to 25 times at MLB.com and all 30 club sites using the 2010 All-Star Game MLB.com Ballot sponsored by Sprint until July 1 at 8:59 p.m. PT. Sprint subscribers can now vote on the go with select Sprint devices. They can learn more about how to vote on their smart phones at MLB.com/Sprint.

Starting rosters will be announced during the 2010 All-Star Game Selection Show on TBS on July 4. Baseball fans around the world will then be able to select the final player on each team via the 2010 All-Star Game Final Vote sponsored by Sprint.

And the voting doesn't end there. Fans will have the opportunity to participate in the official voting for the Ted Williams Most Valuable Player Award presented by Chevrolet at the Midsummer Classic via the 2010 All-Star Game MVP Vote sponsored by Sprint.

The All-Star Game will be televised nationally by FOX and around the world by Major League Baseball International. ESPN Radio will provide exclusive national radio play-by-play, while MLB.com will offer extensive online coverage.

T.R. Sullivan is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.