© 2008 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

08/01/08 8:21 PM ET

Grieve, Nadel to be honored by Rangers

Broadcasters, photographer Kaye noted for service to club

ARLINGTON -- The Rangers are not inducting anybody into their Hall of Fame this year, but will honor Tom Grieve, Eric Nadel and the late photographer Linda Kaye for their lifetime work for the organization.

All will be honored before the Rangers game on Aug. 16 against the Rays as part of the Rangers Hall of Fame weekend event.

"When you look at Tom Grieve, he was a player, general manager, broadcaster and the face of the franchise," Rangers vice president Jim Sundberg said. "He is a person with a great deal of integrity and popularity in front of the fan base and a solid representative of the franchise.

"Eric Nadel is an award-winning broadcaster who has continued to show excellence in his work, preparation and ability to recall Texas Rangers history in great detail. We are fortunate to have both in our broadcasting booth."

Kaye was a former team photographer and close friend to the organization who passed away last year.

"We want to honor her memory and her hard work and dedication and loyalty to her work and craftsmanship," Sundberg said.

The Rangers currently have 10 members of their Hall of Fame. Sundberg is one of seven players along with Nolan Ryan, Charlie Hough, Buddy Bell, John Wetteland, Ferguson Jenkins and Rusty Greer. Also inducted are former manager Johnny Oates, broadcaster Mark Holtz and former Arlington mayor Tom Vandergriff, who led the fight to bring the franchise here from Washington, D.C. in 1971.

Sundberg said the Rangers want to step back and review their Hall of Fame balloting process and criteria for eligibility. The organization will do that over the next three or four months and put together a new system that will still include the fans as part of the process.

"Once we do that, you could make a strong case that over the next five years, there will be a series of inductions," Sundberg said.

T.R. Sullivan is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.