© 2006 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

11/02/06 5:50 PM ET

Teixeira wins back-to-back Gold Gloves

Becomes first Rangers first baseman to win award twice

Rangers first baseman Mark Teixeira has won his second straight Gold Glove Award for defensive excellence.

The American League Gold Glove Award winners were announced on Thursday afternoon, and Teixeira became the first Rangers first baseman to win the award twice. Rafael Palmeiro won it once for the Rangers in 1999.

"It's an honor to win my second gold glove," said Teixeira. "I continue to work hard on improving my defense, and my goal is to just keep getting better as a first baseman."

Teixeira was second among American League first basemen with a .997 fielding percentage, while leading the league in putouts, chances and double plays. Teixeira was drafted as a third baseman, but moved to first base in 2003.

Teixeira was the only Ranger to be named to the team. Club officials were hoping that Gary Matthews Jr. would win a Gold Glove Award for his defensive play in the outfield, but he was beaten out by Toronto's Vernon Wells, Seattle's Ichiro Suzuki and Minnesota's Torii Hunter.

Hunter and Suzuki have won the award six straight seasons, while this was the third straight season for Wells. The Rangers have had just two outfielders win a Gold Glove Award, Gary Pettis in 1990 and Juan Beniquez in 1977.

The Rangers have won 12 Gold Glove Awards in the past eight years and have had at least one player win one every year since 1992.

Tigers catcher Ivan Rodriguez, who won 10 with the Rangers, won again this season for a record 12th time in his career.

The rest of the American League team included Tigers pitcher Kenny Rogers, Royals second baseman Mark Grudzielanek, Yankees shortstop Derek Jeter and Athletics third baseman Eric Chavez.

T.R. Sullivan is a reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.