To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

Official Info

Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.

06/15/2005 4:48 PM ET
John Wetteland and Mark Holtz selected as 2005 inductees to Texas Rangers Baseball Hall of Fame
tickets for any Major League Baseball game
print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pageemail this page
The Texas Rangers Baseball Hall of Fame will welcome two new members in the class of 2005, it was announced today.

The inductees are right-handed pitcher John Wetteland, Rangers all-time saves leader with 150 saves in his four seasons with the team and former Texas Rangers broadcaster from 1982-1997, the late Mark Holtz.

The group will be inducted into the Texas Rangers Baseball Hall of Fame during the Verizon SuperPages Hall of Fame Weekend in an on-field ceremony prior to the Rangers-Orioles game on Friday, August 5. Bronze plaques honoring the inductees will be permanently displayed on the main concourse at Ameriquest Field in Arlington.

These two will join the inaugural class of 2003, Charlie Hough, Johnny Oates, Nolan Ryan, and Jim Sundberg and last year's inductees Buddy Bell, Ferguson Jenkins, and Tom Vandergriff in the Rangers Hall of Fame.

The players were selected in Verizon SuperPages Hall of Fame fan voting conducted at Ameriquest Field in Arlington and in April and May. Wetteland finished the voting with over 9,000 votes as nearly 60,000 total votes were cast.

A committee of local media members selected the names of the players for the fan ballot. Fans were asked to vote for up to three players for election. The other players on the fan ballot (alphabetically): Steve Buechele, Jeff Burroughs, Will Clark, Mike Hargrove, Toby Harrah, Pete O'Brien, Al Oliver, Larry Parrish, Gaylord Perry, Mickey Rivers, and Jeff Russell.

Holtz was selected for induction by the media committee from a category that included managers, coaches, executives, broadcasters, and contributors.

The induction ceremony will be part of a weekend that will also honor former Rangers Manager and inaugural Rangers Hall of Fame member Johnny Oates with the retiring of his number during an on-field ceremony prior to the Rangers-Orioles afternoon game on Saturday, August 6. The Dr Pepper Texas Rangers Hall of Fame Induction Luncheon will take place on Friday, August 5 at the Arlington Hilton Hotel.

The Texas Rangers Baseball Hall of Fame was created in November 2002 to honor players, managers, coaches, executives, broadcasters, and contributors for outstanding performance and service to the organization.


Years with Rangers: 1997-2000
Stats with Rangers: 20-12, 2.95, 150 saves, 253.0 innings, 248 strikeouts

Rangers All-Time leader with 150 saves in just four season with the club. Came to Texas as a free agent after being named the 1996 World Series MVP while with the New York Yankees. Averaged over 37 saves in four seasons with the Rangers, posting a 20-12 record with a 2.95 ERA in 248 relief appearances. Established then club records of 42 saves in 1998 and 43 in 1999, as Rangers won AL West title both years. Also earned All-Star selections in 1998 and 1999. Recorded his 300th career save in May of 2000, tying Lee Smith as youngest pitcher to reach that mark. Had 295 saves in the 1990's, most of any reliever in the decade. Compiled 330 saves in his career, ranking among baseball's All-Time leaders. Was 48-45 with a 2.93 ERA in 618 career appearances. Recorded 30 or more saves in a single season eight times, with four seasons of 40 or more. Was selected to three All-Star games, earning a save in his final appearance. Pitched with the Dodgers, Expos, Yankees, and Rangers. Joined the Rangers staff as a Roving Pitching Coach in 2002.

Years as Rangers Broadcaster: 1982-1997

Best remembers for his memorable calls and trademark "Hello Win Column" after each Rangers victory. Broadcast Rangers baseball for 17 years, was the lead announcer on the Rangers' radio broadcast on WBAP from 1982-1994, joining Eric Nadel to form one of the longest-running radio teams in the American League. During his time on the radio, announced four no-hitters, two by Nolan Ryan in 1990 and 1991, and perfect games by Mike Witt in 1984 and Kenny Rogers in 1994, and was in the booth for Ryan's 5,000th strikeout in 1989 and 300th win in 1990. Served as the lead announcer on Rangers television from 1995-1997. During his Rangers broadcasting career, was named Texas Play-by-Play Sportscaster of the Year eight times. Was elected to the Texas Baseball Hall of Fame in 1990. The 12-acre lake on the north side of Ameriquest Field was dedicated in his honor in September 1997 and renamed Mark Holtz Lake.

print this pageprint this page    |    e-mail this pageemail this page