To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.


Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.
1900-1925 | 1926-1950 | 1951-1975 | 1976-2000 | 2001-Present

In 1951, for the first time in 20 seasons, the great Luke Appling was no longer the heart and soul of the White Sox. But his retirement a year earlier left only a temporary void. Three key additions — southpaw Billy Pierce, second baseman Jacob Nelson "Nellie" Fox and outfielder Orestes "Minnie" Minoso — breathed new life into the team and brought winning baseball back to the South Side. The year also marked the beginning of the "Go-Go" era of the White Sox.
1955  - The White Sox tallied a franchise record 29 runs at Kansas City on April 23. Sherm Lollar was 5-6 with a pair of home runs and five RBI while reserve outfielder Bob Nieman and infielder Walt Dropo drove in seven runs apiece inthe 29-6 victory.
1956  - Luis Apparicio replaces Chico Carrasquel as the White Sox' everyday shortstop. Aparicio, who played 10 seasons with the White Sox, was elected to the Hall of Fame in 1984 and had his #11 retired by the Sox in the same year.
1958  - Bill Veeck and his partners gain majority control of the White Sox after a lengthy court battle with the Comiskey heirs. Veeck, owner of the Indians, Browns and White Sox during his lifetime, consistently broke attendance records with pennant-winning teams and with outragous door prizes, enthusuiastic fan participation and ingenious promotional schemes. An inventerate hustler and energetic maverick, He introduced a midget player (Eddie Gaedel), Bat Day, fireworks, exploding scoreboards and player names on backs of uniforms.
1959  - The White Sox and Indians battled for the crown in 1959, and the White Sox came out on top. Thanks to Wynn's 22 victories, Aparicio's 56 stolen bases, center fielder Jim Landis' superb defense, a solid pitching staff (3.29 team ERA) and the August 25 acquisition of slugging first baseman Ted Kluszewski, the team won 94 games. On September 22, the sound of air-raid sirens rang through Chicago as the White Sox became champions of the American League for the first time in 40 years. more >
1964  - Bill "Moose" Skowron and "Smoky" Burgess were late-season additions to the 1964 Chicago White Sox who finished one game out of first place with a 98-64 record. Five memebers of the Sox pitching staff won double-digits games and Ron Hansen and Pete Ward topped the 20 home run plateu.
1971  - On the last day of the season, 'Beltin' Bill Melton becomes the first White Sox player to win an American League home run crown when he hits number 33 against Milwaukee's Bill Parsons.
1900-1925 | 1926-1950 | 1951-1975 | 1976-2000 | 2001-Present